By now you would have noticed I love giving people nick name’s, it’s something I’ve always done.

Last year I met a bloke, he was from Durham so I nick named him Northern Monkey, Monkey for short.

I should have known from the start that he was going to be trouble, my mates could see it but I couldn’t. Looking back on it I can see it now but isn’t that always the way!

For 6 months he put me through hell. He thought he could rock up to my house and I’d drop everything for him. At first I did, I never asked any questions. He would always get in touch and, me being a soft touch would give him the benefit of the doubt!

I know what an idiot.

He even asked me to marry him not once, twice but several times. He thought that would make it all better.

One night I had been out to dinner with the girls when I got an unknown call on my mobile. The first time I didn’t answer, I had a feeling it was going to be something to do with Monkey…. The second time i answered it. It was a girl asking me why my number was on her boyfriend’s mobile bill. So I asked who her boyfriend was.  Well I’m sure you have guessed already but yes it was Monkey!

She asked why he was calling me so I said she should ask him. She asked when I had seen him last so I was honest and said the weekend. She told me I was lying as he was at work!

She then told me that they were getting married….. I said I’m sorry to hear that as he had asked me to marry him as well but I said no.

As you can imagine the conversation got a bit nasty. I reminded her that it was her that called me and I was just being honest with her.

I ended the conversation by saying good luck marrying him as I think you’re going to need it.

I was upset but also relieved as it was all making sense now and I wasn’t going mad. He was living a double life!

I sent him one last text informing him that his fiancée had been in touch and I hoped the wedding went well!  Ok it wasn’t as nice as that, I couldn’t repeat what I actually put in that text.

I never heard from him again……….

That was until this weekend, I was having a great time sitting in the sun at my sisters when I got a Facebook request from him!

I felt sick, but that was soon replaced with anger. How bloody dare he. I rejected it straight away. Then carried on with my weekend.

I should point out at this stage that I am very happy at the moment life is going well. Work is busy but going well and I’ve met someone who makes me smile and means a lot to me.

I got home the next day and there was a note on the mat from Monkey. Once again I was fuming, he wanted to speak to me ASAP. Tough! I wanted to speak  to him 8 month ago.

What makes people like him think they can decide as and when he wants to speak to me, what could he have to say to me that he couldn’t have said 8 months ago?

Who cares… I don’t.

It’s Ex’s like these that make us girls strong!

