My new housemate has now moved in and the house feels alive again. The last few lodgers have been people who are moving on after a few month’s. Stacey (she’s Welsh and I’m a fan of Gavin and Stacey) has a permanent job in the area and wants to feel settled as the last 7 months have been exhausting for her. The last house she rented a room in was a shared place with six guys, can you imagine that! 

When I got home last Monday after a manic day at work it was nice to see Stacey in the house making her room look all homely. We had a quick chat and she tells me that she’s not really sure how she feels about the guy she is seeing. Guess where she met him. Plenty of fish or should I say plenty of issues!

I said to her about me going Yoga! Yes you heard me right I was going to try it. After the last few weeks I needed something for me. Now I’ve never tried  it before but if you don’t try these things your never know.

Off we trot to the local gym. It must be our lucky night as we manage to get the last two places. I never knew it was so popular.

We walk into the studio and meet the teacher…. Who looks at us like we have 2 heads!

Hi we are new to this, To which she replies oh great new people I’m surprised you got in as this class is normally fully booked! Ok….. Well we did and here we are! 

We collect our mats and like children take them to the back of the room. Have you ever done yoga? She bellows across the studio. No we both replied but we have been told it’s good. Well I’ll explain more when the class starts! There are 12 of us in the studio and she begins. Now one thing I’ve found out already about Stacey is that when she’s nervous she laughs….. Not the best of things in a yoga class so I avoid eye contact with her.

She tells us to sit with our legs crossed and relax our shoulders and close our eyes. I’m liking this. Not too bad after all. Then she tells us to do other things, but as we are new we don’t know what she is talking about so I open my eyes to see what the others are doing to be told please close my eye. How am I meant to know what to do?

So I try as much as I can whilst peeking through one eye open and I actually enjoy it. At the end of the class you have a 10/15min cool down and this was great you lay there and think of nothing apart from your body and how it feels. I know this sounds strange but honestly it felt great. I came out feeling so tired but uber relaxed.

Maybe yoga is my new thing…. As long as I can find another class.

